The Port is governed by a three member Board of Port Commissioners elected by the public, to a four-year term. The Board establishes policies under which the Port’s staff – supervised by the Executive Director – conducts its daily operations.

These three elected officials are responsible for:

  • Representing public interests
  • Setting port policy
  • Determining program direction
  • Setting long and short range goals
  • Approving the annual budget; and
  • Assisting with leadership development

The Port of Shelton projects honesty, integrity, public trust, professionalism, fairness, cooperation, equal treatment of our tenants, the public and all other agencies.

The Port of Shelton will develop, enhance and protect the airport, industrial properties, waterfront and all other public assets entrusted and managed by the Port.

The Port of Shelton Commission holds meetings on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 2:00pm in the Commission Chambers located at the Port of Shelton Administrative Offices, 21 West Sanderson Way, Shelton, WA 98584.

The public is encouraged and welcome to attend.

Meeting Minutes are available online following Commission approval.
Position 1

Dale Elmlund
Term Expires 12/31/27

Dale Elmlund has experience as a  Firefighter/EMT, in Emergency Management specifically disaster preparedness and with law enforcement in the State of Washington and the State of California.  Commissioner Elmlund is also an NRA/BSA rangemaster, a part of the new Mason County Fairgrounds Committee and serves on the Housing Authority of Mason County.

Commissioner Elmlund is retired from the US Navy and has spent many hours dedicating his time to community service activities such as the initial parade developer for Christmas Town USA, and Bikes for Books through the Masonic Children’s early education literacy program.

Dale is currently serving in his first four-year term and serves as Vice-Chairman/Secretary for the Port Commission.  

Phone:  (360) 837-7381


Position 2

Dick Taylor
Term Expires 12/31/27

Dick Taylor spent 34 years in the US Navy, advancing from Seaman Recruit to Commander. Commissioner Taylor is a UW Graduate and received his Masters in Business Administration in 2007. He has worked as a real-estate sales agent, served as executive director of the chamber of commerce, executive director of a not-for- profit firm providing services to developmentally disabled adults, was the project manager of a civilian submarine construction program, and served 6 years as City of Shelton’s Commissioner of Finance. Commissioner Taylor is currently the Chairman of the Port Commission and is serving his fourth four-year term. He serves on the PRTPO Executive Committee and is currently serving as a Chaplain for Central Mason Fire and EMS.

Home: (360) 426-5214

Position 3

Kristy Buck
Term Expires 12/31/25

Kristy Buck is a second-generation life-long resident of Mason County. She has business experience in banking and lending, sixteen years working for Simpson Timber Company in accounting and office management, and has been a real estate broker and an active real estate agent since 2003. Kristy has served on the Economic Development Council for Mason County since 2007, chairing it in 2012 and 2013. She also has served on the local Realtor Association board (President in 2006), has been Realtor of the Year twice, and is active in her church and Rotary.

Kristy has been married to her husband, Jim, since 1989, and they live on their 13-acre Christmas Tree Farm along with several yellow labs.

Phone: (360) 490-0958